Skip to main content

Health is a matter of trust.

blood pressure
monitoring
is boso.


boso medicus X

The best upper arm blood pressure monitor

Stiftung Warentest 5/2016, 11/2018 and 9/2020

boso is the brand with which 96% of all German general practitioners, physicians and internists work in practice. This makes your equipment purchase very easy: Security guaranteed with boso. Simply choose the type of device that best suits your personal needs.

seal:

ESH-test report confirms highest quality of boso.

All digital boso self-measuring devices have passed the criteria of the German Hypertension League or the rigorous test protocol of the European Society of Hypertension (ESH).

news:

Do you already know boso medisol?

Deep inhalation
for the upper and
lower respiratory tract.

read more

From boso for you: General information on blood pressure and measurement.

What is blood pressure?

The measurement of blood pressure is one of the most important tools in the repertoire of GPs. But it is also extremely important for patients at home to check their own measurements regularly. Not only when they are taking medicine. In particular for older people and people who are health-conscious, measuring your own blood pressure daily should be a matter of course. This is because it allows early recognition of changes that suggest a deterioration of vital functions or an illness.

The blood vessels of the body form a widely interlinked, flexible system through which all the blood in the body flows. Blood is pumped into the circulation of the body by the heart, thereby providing all organs with blood rich in oxygen and nutrients.

The blood pressure is the arterial pressure measured in the vessels and chambers of the heart. The measurement of the blood pressure therefore gives information about the pressure in the arterial circulation and is therefore one of the most important diagnostic tools in the repertoire of GPs. The blood pressure is thus dependent on the performance of the heart and the resistance of the vessels. It is measured in mmHg (mm of mercury column). Two values must be calculated here: The systolic (upper) blood pressure is created when the heart contracts and the blood is pressed into the blood vessels. The diastolic (lower) blood pressure is created when the heart muscle is extended and refilling itself with blood.

What is high blood pressure?

One refers to high blood pressure or (arterial) hypertension if there is a sustained pressure of 140 mmHg (systolic) and/or 90 mmHG (diastolic). Many people are unaware that approximately 25% of the adult population and around half the over-60s suffer from high blood pressure. High blood pressure can exist for many years without causing any problems. However, the consequence can be serious illnesses, since in the long-term various organs such as the heart, brain, blood vessels and kidneys are damaged.

Regular blood pressure measurements have therefore acquired a high level of significance in our society and in addition to blood pressure measurement in GP surgeries, daily self-measurement of blood pressure at home has also become common. This is because only regular checks can prevent damage or circulation disorders, or recognise them soon enough to enable treatment with medication to be started, for example. In particular, people in the so-called risk groups should take their blood pressure regularly as a matter of course. Particular risk factors include e.g. inherited high blood pressure, age, overweight, diabetes, kidney diseases, stress and food rich in salt.

What should one consider under the heading of health care?

Measure and check your blood pressure regularly - with self-measurement devices you can also do this very easily and simply at home. In this way, you receive precise and reliable information on your health status within a few minutes. If you notice that your blood pressure is too high or you see other signs of illness, you should consult your doctor without fail.

However, a healthy diet is also always important for your health. Regular exercise and relaxation are further factors that you can use to contribute positively to your health. And note the special risk factors for high blood pressure, such as e.g. inherited high blood pressure, age, overweight, diabetes, kidney diseases, stress and food rich in salt.

What is your device type?

Take advice from your doctor or from professional suppliers, i.e. chemists or medical supply stores. This is because patients who measure their blood pressure themselves should be given extensive instructions. Would you like help in assessing your blood pressure values and additional useful information? Are you perhaps measuring jointly with another person, or would you like an assessment on your smartphone or computer? Do you have an irregular heartbeat or do you need a larger cuff? There is a wide choice of different device types because accurate blood pressure measurement relies on using a device that is optimally suited to the needs of the individual. Only self-measurement that has been correctly carried out offers an excellent means of therapy control.

Some basic information for your first steps:
For self-measurement, a distinction is generally made between upper arm and wrist measurement. Both measurement methods can be considered of equal value. However, it is recommended that people with narrowed blood vessels, which is often the case for older people, should use an upper arm device, since wrist devices can under certain circumstances give imprecise measurements.

The most common self-measurement devices are entirely automatic, so that one only needs to press a button to start the measurement. The devices pump up independently - most simultaneously already calculating the high (systolic) value, so that the measurement is a very soft and pleasant process - and then automatically release the air again. At the end, systolic, diastolic and pulse measurements can be easily read on the display.

To the devices

There are also devices which are particularly suitable in the case of irregular heartbeat, for example, like the classic model with built-in stethoscope - the measurement method that is often also used by doctors.

To the classic devices with stethoscope

By the way: All the measurement methods mentioned have no impact on any pacemaker. However, to verify the measurement results, comparable measurements by a doctor are recommended.

In addition to the device type, the correct cuff is one of the most important aspects for precise blood pressure measurement. So be careful to have the correct cuff size for either the upper arm or the wrist, since otherwise erroneous measurements may occur. We have an extensive choice of cuff sizes, particularly for upper arm devices, with the following choices for boso devices:

Arm circumference 16 - 22 cm - XS-cuff | 22 – 32 cm = standard cuff22 – 42 cm = universal cuff | 32 – 48 cm = XL cuff

What do you need to look out for during blood pressure measurement?

On which arm should the measurement be taken?
How do you put on the cuff?
Why do blood pressure measurements sometimes vary?
And how should I evaluate the measurements?

In our "Blood pressure measurement: the basics" leaflet,
we have summarized the most important information for
you, briefly and succinctly – click here to download

History

Efficiency + progress is our tradition

1889 - 1904

Two Swabian mechanics, Josef and Albert Bosch, founded the company "J&A Bosch" in Strasbourg in 1889.

Shortly after its foundation, the company's seismic devices received a gold medal at the world exhibitions in Paris (1900) and St. Louis (1904).

Another breakthrough came at the beginning of 1900 with a blood pressure monitor that could be mass-produced.

 

1918 - 1920

The end of J. & A. Bosch is sealed by the loss of the First World War. Albert Bosch was allowed to temporarily manage the company from 1918, but it was liquidated in 1920.

Albert Bosch returns to Jungingen and tries to enter his parents' business. The owners at the time, his brothers, refused to let him in. For financial reasons, Albert Bosch looks for a partner and finds him in Albert Speidel from Jungingen, whose parents are wealthy.

1921 - 1964

1921 Albert Bosch and Albert Speidel found the company Bosch & Speidel in Jungingen (founding company). The first blood pressure self-monitoring device with stethoscope is developed.

1925 Willi Bosch and Carl Keller join Bosch & Speidel.

In the following decades, Bosch & Speidel achieve a worldwide reputation in the manufacture of blood pressure monitors.

1965 - 1975

1965 Willi Bosch and his son Edwin found Bosch + Sohn, boso, in the former shoe factory at the Jungingen train station.

1971 boso moves to the former Riester sawmill (present day old building).

1976 Kurt Rädle joins the company as the commercial manager. The first electronic self-measuring device and the oscillometric measuring method are introduced by boso in Germany.

1977 - 1995

1977 boso receives the "European Quality Award" for electronic devices.

1980 boso introduces the first digital self-measuring device for the home.

1990 Kurt Rädle takes over the company boso and the ambulatory blood pressure monitor TM 2420 is available for doctors and clinics.

1995 The certificate for ISO 9001 and ISO 13485 standards is introduced.

2002 - 2008

2002 The upper arm blood pressure monitor "boso medicus" receives the award "German Hypertension Society".

2005 All boso mechanical blood pressure monitors are shock protected.

2007 The boso ABI-system 100 for PAOD screening and the mercury device without mercury "boso Mercurius E" are presented.

2008 boso is two times the test winner from Stiftung Warentest in test 1/2008 with the devices "boso medicus family" (upper arm) and "boso medistar s" (wrist).

2012 - 2018

2012 The first boso ABI system with PWV measurement for assessing arterial stiffness is introduced.

2016 96 % of all German general practitioners, physicians and internists work with boso blood pressure monitors in their practices (API study by GfK 01/2016).

2016 boso is the test winner from the Stiftung Warentest in test 05/2016 with the device "boso medicus X" (upper arm) and takes 2nd place with the device "boso medistar +" (wrist).

2018 "boso medicus X" is again the best upper arm blood pressure monitor according to Stiftung Warentest in test 11/2018

present

boso manufactures blood pressure monitors for both professional and private use. In addition to blood pressure measurement, boso is known for fever measurement, eye and throat diagnostics, deep inhalation, heat and wellness products and stethoscopes that are exported to over 70 countries.

boso products are not only used worldwide, but also in space. The long-term blood pressure monitor boso TM-2430 PC 2 was the first series blood pressure monitor to be used for a long time on the International Space Station ISS.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Gesundheit ist Vertrauenssache.

blutdruckmessen ist boso.

boso ist die Marke, mit der auch 96 % aller deutschen Allgemeinmediziner, Praktiker und Internisten in der Praxis arbeiten. Das macht Ihren Gerätekauf ganz leicht: Sicherheit garantiert mit boso. Wählen Sie einfach nur den Gerätetyp, der am besten zu Ihrem persönlichen Bedarf passt.

Siegel:

ESH-Prüfprotokoll bestätigt höchste boso Qualität.

Alle digitalen boso Selbstmessgeräte haben die Kriterien der Deutschen Hochdruckliga bzw. das strenge Prüfprotokoll der Europäischen Hochdruckliga (ESH) bestanden.

aktuell:

Kennen Sie schon boso medisol?

Tiefeninhalation
für die oberen und
unteren Atemwege.

weiterlesen

Von boso für Sie: Allgemeine Informationen zu Blutdruck und zur Messung.

Was ist Blutdruck?

Die Messung des Blutdrucks gehört zu den wichtigsten diagnostischen Mitteln der hausärztlichen Praxis. Aber auch für Patienten zu Hause ist es überaus wichtig, die eigenen Werte regelmäßig zu kontrollieren. Nicht nur im Falle einer Medikamenteneinnahme. Gerade für ältere und gesundheitsbewusste Menschen sollte die tägliche Selbstmessung des Blutdrucks eine Selbstverständlichkeit sein. Denn dadurch lassen sich schon früh Veränderungen erkennen, die auf eine Beeinträchtigung der Vitalfunktionen oder eine Erkrankung hinweisen.

Die Blutgefäße des Körpers bilden ein weit verzweigtes flexibles System, in welchem das gesamte Blut kreist. Vom Herzen wird es in den Körperkreislauf gepumpt und versorgt so alle Organe mit sauerstoff- und nährstoffreichem Blut.

Der Blutdruck ist der in den Gefäßen und Herzkammern gemessene arterielle Druck. Die Messung des Blutdrucks gibt somit Auskunft über den Druck im arteriellen Kreislauf und gehört daher zu den wichtigsten diagnostischen Mitteln in der hausärztlichen Praxis. Der Blutdruck ist also abhängig von Herzleistung und Gefäßwiderstand und wird in mmHg (mm Quecksilbersäule) gemessen. Dabei müssen zwei Werte ermittelt werden: Der systolische (obere) Blutdruck entsteht, wenn das Herz sich zusammenzieht und das Blut in die Blutgefäße gedrückt wird. Der diastolische (untere) Blutdruck liegt vor, wenn der Herzmuskel gedehnt ist und sich wieder mit Blut füllt.

Was ist Bluthochdruck?

Ab einem ständigen Druck von systolisch 140 mmHg und/ oder diastolisch 90 mmHg spricht man von Bluthochdruck oder (arterielle) Hypertonie. Viele wissen nicht, dass etwa 25 % der erwachsenen Bevölkerung und rund die Hälfte der über Sechzigjährigen an Bluthochdruck leiden. Ein zu hoher Blutdruck besteht oft über viele Jahre, ohne irgendwelche Beschwerden zu verursachen. Die Folge können jedoch ernsthafte Erkrankungen sein, da langfristig verschiedene Organe wie Herz, Gehirn, Gefäße und Nieren geschädigt werden.

Regelmäßige Blutdruckmessungen haben daher inzwischen einen hohen Stellenwert in unserer Gesellschaft und neben der Blutdruckmessung in der hausärztlichen Praxis hat sich auch die tägliche Selbstmessung des Blutdrucks zu Hause etabliert. Denn nur durch eine regelmäßige Kontrolle können Schäden oder Kreislauferkrankungen vorgebeugt oder gegebenfalls früh erkannt werden, um z.B. eine medikamentöse Therapie einzuleiten. Vor allem auch bei denjenigen Menschen, die zu den sog. Risikogruppen zählen, sollte die regelmäßige Messung des Blutdrucks selbstverständlich sein. Besondere Risikofaktoren sind z.B. erblicher Bluthochdruck, Lebensalter, Übergewicht, Diabetes, Nierenerkrankungen, Stress, salzreiche Ernährung.

Was sollte man im Rahmen der Gesundheitsvorsorge beachten?

Messen und kontrollieren Sie regelmäßig Ihren Blutdruck – mit Selbstmessgeräten können Sie dies auch ganz einfach und unkompliziert zu Hause tun. So erhalten Sie in wenigen Minuten präzise und zuverlässige Informationen zu Ihrem Gesundheitsstatus. Wenn Ihnen ein zu hoher Blutdruck aufgefallen ist oder Sie sonstige Krankheitsanzeichen bemerken, dann sollten Sie unbedingt einen Arzt konsultieren.

Für Ihre Gesundheit ist aber auf jeden Fall eine gesund Ernährung anzustreben. Regelmäßige Bewegung und Entspannung sind weitere Faktoren, die Sie für Ihre Gesundheit positiv nutzen können. Und beachten Sie die besonderen Risikofaktoren für Bluthochdruck, wie z.B. erblicher Bluthochdruck, Lebensalter, Übergewicht, Diabetes, Nierenerkrankungen, Stress, salzreiche Ernährung.

Welcher Gerätetyp sind Sie?

Lassen Sie sich von Ihrem Arzt oder im medizinischen Fachhandel, das heißt in der Apotheke oder im Santitätshaus, beraten. Denn Patienten, die ihren Blutdruck selbst messen, sollten eine ausführliche Einweisung erhalten. Wünschen Sie sich Hilfe bei der Auswertung Ihrer Blutdruckwerte und weitere nützliche Informationen? Messen Sie vielleicht zu zweit oder möchten eine Auswertung am Smartphone oder am Computer? Haben Sie Herzrhythmusstörungen oder benötigen eine größere Manschette? Die Auswahl unterschiedlicher Gerätetypen ist groß, denn für die genaue Blutdruckmessung ist ein optimal auf den individuellen Bedarf abgestimmtes Gerät sehr wichtig. Nur eine korrekte vorgenommene Selbstmessung bietet eine ausgezeichnete Möglichkeit zur Therapiekontrolle.

Für Ihre ersten Schritte einige grundsätzliche Informationen:
Bei der Selbstmessung wird generell zwischen Oberarm- und Handgelenkmessung unterschieden. Beide Messmethoden sind gleichwertig zu beurteilen. Allerdings wird empfohlen, dass Menschen mit Gefäßverengungen, was insbesondere bei älteren Menschen häufiger der Fall ist, ein Oberarmmessgerät benutzen, da es unter Umständen bei Handgelenkgeräten zu ungenauen Messungen kommen kann.

Die gängigsten Selbstmessgeräte sind vollautomatisch, so dass nur ein Knopf gedrückt werden muss, um die Messung zu starten. Die Geräte pumpen selbständig auf – die meisten erkennen dabei bereits den oberen Wert (Systole), so dass die Messung sehr sanft und angenehm ist – und lassen danach automatisch wieder die Luft ab. Systole, Diastole und Puls sind am Ende komfortabel auf dem Display abzulesen.

Zu den Geräten

Darüber hinaus gibt es auch Geräte, die zum Beispiel besonders bei Herzrythmusstörungen geeignet sind, wie die Klassiker mit eingebautem Stethoskop, also mit der Messmethode, wie sie auch von Ärzten oft angewendet wird.

Zu den Klassikern mit Stethoskop

Übrigens: Alle der genannten Messmethoden beeinflussen nicht einen evtl. Herzschrittmacher. Zur Verifizierung der Messergebnisse empfehlen sich jedoch Vergleichsmessungen durch einen Arzt.

Neben dem Gerätetyp ist auch die richtige Manschette einer der wichtigsten Punkte für eine präzise Blutdruckmessung. Achten Sie daher sowohl am Oberarm als auch am Handgelenk auf den passenden Manschettenumfang, da es andernfalls zu Fehlmessungen kommen kann. Bei Oberarmgeräten ist die Auswahl an unterschiedlichen Manschettengrößen am umfangreichsten, die Einordnung bei boso Geräten ist wie folgt:

Armumfang 16 – 22 cm = XS-Manschette | 22 – 32 cm = Standard-Manschette
22 – 42 cm = Universal-Manschette | 32 – 48 cm = XL-Manschette

Was ist bei der Blutdruckmessung zu beachten?

An welchem Arm wird gemessen?
Wie wird die Manschette angelegt?
Warum schwankt der Blutdruck?
Und wie sind die Messergebnisse zu bewerten?


In unserem „1 x 1 der Blutdruckmessung“ haben wir 
die wichtigsten Informationen kurz und kompakt für 
Sie zusammengefasst – hier zum Download

Die boso-Erfolgsgeschichte

Effizienz + Fortschritt ist unsere Tradition

1889 - 1904

Zwei schwäbische Mechaniker, Josef und Albert Bosch, gründeten 1889 in Straßburg die Firma „J&A Bosch“.

Kurz nach der Gründung erhielten seismische Geräte der Firma eine Goldmedaille auf den Weltausstellungen in Paris (1900) und in St. Louis (1904).

Anfang 1900 gelang mit einem Blutdruckmessgerät, das in Serie gefertigt werden konnte, ein weiterer Durchbruch.

1918 - 1920

Das Ende der Firma J. & A. Bosch wird durch den Verlust des ersten Weltkriegs besiegelt. Albert Bosch darf die Firma ab 1918 kommissarisch leiten, 1920 wird sie jedoch liquidiert.

Albert Bosch kehrt nach Jungingen zurück und versucht in den elterlichen Betrieb einzusteigen. Die damaligen Inhaber, seine Brüder, verwehren ihm jedoch den Eintritt. Aus finanziellen Gründen sucht Albert Bosch einen Partner und findet ihn in Albert Speidel aus Jungingen, dessen Eltern vermögend sind.

1921 - 1964

1921 Gründen Albert Bosch und Albert Speidel die Firma Bosch & Speidel in Jungingen (Gründerfirma). Es wird das erste Blutdruck-Selbstmessgerät mit Stethoskop entwickelt.

1925 Treten Willi Bosch und Carl Keller, in die Firma Bosch & Speidel ein.

In den folgenden Jahrzehnten erreicht die Firma Bosch & Speidel Weltruf bei der Herstellung von Blutdruckmessgeräten.

1965 - 1975

1965 Gründet Willi Bosch mit seinem Sohn Edwin in der ehemaligen Schuhfabrik am Bahnhof in Jungingen die Firma Bosch + Sohn, boso.

1971 boso zieht in das ehemalige Sägewerk Riester um (heutiger Altbau).

1976 Tritt Kurt Rädle in die Firma als kaufmännischer Leiter ein. Das erste elektronische Selbstmessgerät sowie die oszillometrische Messmethode wird von boso in Deutschland eingeführt.

1977 - 1995

1977 Erhält boso den „European Quality Award“ für elektronische Geräte.

1980 Führt boso das erste digitale Selbstmessgerät für Zuhause ein.

1990 Kurt Rädle übernimmt die Firma boso und das erste ambulante 24h Blutdruckmessgerät TM 2420 ist für Ärzte und Kliniken erhältlich.

1995 Das Zertifikat für ISO 9001 und ISO 13485 Standards wird eingeführt.

2002 - 2008

2002 Das Oberarm-Blutdruckmessgerät „boso medicus“ erhält den Preis „German Hypertension Society“.

2005 Alle mechanischen Blutdruckmessgeräte von boso sind „shock protected“.

2007 Das boso ABI-system 100 für PAVK-Screening und das Quecksilber-Gerät ohne Quecksilber "boso Mercurius E" werden vorgestellt.

2008 boso ist 2 x Testsieger bei Stiftung Warentest im Test 1/2008 mit den Geräten „boso medicus family“ (Oberarm) und "boso medistar s“ (Handgelenk).

2012 - 2018

2012 Das erste boso ABI-system mit PWV-Messung zur Beurteilung der arteriellen Gefäßsteifigkeit wird eingeführt.

2016 96 % aller deutschen Allgemeinärzte, Praktiker und Internisten arbeiten in der Praxis mit Blutdruckmessgeräten von boso (API-Studie der GfK 01/2016).

2016 boso ist Testsieger bei Stiftung Warentest im Test 05/2016 mit dem Gerät "boso medicus X“ (Oberarm) und belegt den 2. Platz mit dem Gerät "boso medistar +" (Handgelenk).

2018 "boso medicus X" erneut bestes Oberarm-Blutdruckmessgerät bei Stiftung Warentest im Test 11/2018

heute

boso stellt Blutdruckmessgeräte sowohl für den professionellen Einsatz als auch für den Hausgebrauch her. Neben Blutdruckmessen ist boso bekannt für Fiebermessen, Augen und Rachen Diagnostik, Tiefeninhalation, Wärme Wellness-Produkte und Stethoskope, die in über 70 Länder exportiert werden.

Die Produkte von boso werden nicht nur weltweit benutzt, sondern darüber hinaus sogar im Weltraum. Das Langzeitblutdruckmessgerät boso TM-2430 PC 2 war als erstes Serienblutdruckmessgerät lange Zeit auf der internationalen Raumstation ISS im Einsatz.